Currently viewing the tag: "Allied Forces"

Allied Forces (Piercing Metal) If there is one single album by the band Triumph that belongs in your CD collection then “Allied Forces” is that CD. Any collector of great music will agree that the numbers on this release (originally released in 1981) make this a must have in your collection to start you off on music of Triumph properly. With “Allied Force” the Canadian power trio touched upon the lines between Hard Rock and Progressive Music, and this release contains some of their most seminal numbers. In addition to the title track, this CD is the home to “Magic Power” and the big arena rock anthem “Fight The Good Fight”. The impact of these songs was so great in that you would always find the band including them in their live set until they ceased touring in the 1990’s. While The reason is purely based on “Allied Forces” being the home to seminal Triumph numbers such as “Magic Power”, “Allied Forces” and the total arena anthem “Fight The Good Fight”. Looking back on their rich catalog this is perhaps the most classic of all of their releases and is a high recommendation in this version. Rik Emmett, Gil Moore and Mike Levine never sounded better and it is my hope that with these remastered editions and people rediscovering Triumph music that perhaps a reunion of some type is in order.

The production of the Remaster is fantastic and meant to be turned up very loud. Similar to the other releases in this collection of the Triumph back catalog, this edition includes all the original artwork and lyrics are provided. If one can find a criticism it is simply the lack of added tracks or any other bonus recorded material. Even old interview pieces would have been a nice inclusion to this historic CD. This comes with very high recommendations, so check it out.

Triumph: Allied Forces (remaster)

“I’m young now, I’m wild now, I want to be free, I got the Magic Power of the music in me…”

Remember that FM Rock radio staple from 1981’s hit album Allied Forces by Canada’s Triumph? “Magic Power” seemingly brought the hard rock trio into the world of arena rock, and started a string of top selling albums, singles, and MTV videos that brought them worldwide acclaim throughout the 80’s. The Triumph catalog has recently been remastered, and their albums have never sounded better. Allied Forces, containing better songwriting, heavier riffs, and catchier melodies than their previous offerings, produced a slew of memorable and classic cuts.

Who can forget the intense title track, complete with muscular guitar riffs and a blazing solo from axe man Rik Emmett, as well as wailing vocals from drummer Gil Moore? More headbanging riffs can he heard on the album opener “Fool For Your Love”, again sung by Moore, while the party track “Hot Time(In This City Tonight) sees the band having fun with some heavy 50’s style rock, blues, and boogie. This tune is sung by Emmett, who also delivers some amazing and nimble solos that are like a cross between Chuck Berry and Ted Nugent.

The real highlights though (besides the catchy and enchanting “Magic Power” of course)are the final few tunes, all sung by Emmett. “Fight the Good Fight” is a wonderful tune that mixes prog and hard rock, led by bassist Mike Levine’s synths, Emmett’s 12-string electric and crunchy 6-string power chords. Rik’s vocals on this track are very much like fellow Canadian Geddy Lee, and his guitar solo is a work of wonder, fluid, flashy, and ultra melodic, the work of a real pro. More progressive tinged hard rock can be heard on “Ordinary Man”, which hints a little at early Foreigner as well as late 70’s Rush, with lush acoustic guitars, synths, and the emotional vocals of Emmett, before the mid section brings in crushing down-picked power chords and Moore’s bombastic drum fills. After the lovely acoustic guitar instrumental “Petite Etude” (Emmett is an amazing classical player) comes the bluesy hard rock & pop of “Say Goodbye”, a real catchy tune with Emmett hitting the high notes, Levine’s rootsy organ, and the great mixing of electric and acoustic guitar chords.

Allied Forces is perhaps the best place to start for any newbie who is looking to check out the band. There are plenty of classic tunes here, plus the remaster sounds great, and a full booklet with lyrics is included.

Track Listing
1) Fool For Your Love
2) Magic Power
3) Air Raid
4) Allied Forces
5) Hot Time (In This City Tonight)
6) Fight the Good Fight
7) Ordinary Man
8) Petite Etude
9) Say Goodbye

Triumph’s most famous piece of work, this album has the quintessential sound and punch of the 80s. Great riffs, intense ballads, multi-dimensional musicanship, catchy lyrics, all blend to lend this album its widely-cherished and long-lived appeal.

Never Surrender Review:

To follow up an album like Allied Forces is for sure not an easy task, and Triumph did its best. Unfortunately, Never Surrender just wasn’t the same commercial success as Allied Forces and it missed the mark.

The album starts off strong. With the furious rocker “Too Much Thinking” followed by “A World Of Fantasy,” things really get rolling. Unfortunately, the second half of the album has a more tedious feel to it, which is hard to swallow.

Also included are several impressive instrumentals that showcase Rik’s guitar talent, and Gil’s drumming. Although the album did have some good songs, it just didn’t seem to fit together as well as Allied Forces did.

Allied Forces Review:

Without a second thought, Triumph’s Allied Forces is definitely one of the quintessential rock albums of the 1980s. Beginning with the hard rocking “Fool for Your Love” and ending off with the lighter, more carefree “Say Goodbye,” this record keeps the hits coming one after the other. Not only was this a change for Triumph’s sound, it also sported smash songs like “Magic Power” and “Fight the Good Fight.” Even the more over looked “Ordinary Man” displays some amazing song writing and vocal talent.

Date Reviewed: 02/15/06
Reviewer: Scott
Location: Quebec