Currently viewing the tag: "classic"

Triumph – Never Surrender (MCA) 1982

1. “Too Much Thinkin” (5:34)
2. “A World of Fantasy” (5:03)
3. “A Minor Prelude” (:43)
4. “All the Way” (4:22)
5. “Battle Cry” (4:57)
6. “Overture (Procession)” (1:54)
7. “Never Surrender” (6:40)
8. “When the Lights Go Down” (5:03)
9. “Writing on the Wall” (3:34)
10. “Epilogue (Resolution)” (2:41)

Triumph CDs never seem to show up in the used bins, so when I spoted this one I snagged it I was already familiar with the title track, “Never Surrender”, and I knew I liked this song. However, once I got the disc home and popped it into the CD player, I just couldn’t get into this one like I did some of their earlier albums. There are a few standouts cuts, as in the aformentioned title track and “A World of Fantasy” as well. Overall, however, I much prefer “Allied Forces” and “Progressions of Power” over this disc.

Triumph – Allied Forces (MCA) 1981

1. “Fool for Your Love” (4:28)
2. “Magic Power” (4:48)
3. “Air Raid” (1:18)
4. “Allied Forces” (5:01)
5. “Hot Time (in this City Tonight)” (3:20)
6. “Fight the Good Fight” (6:20)
7. “Ordinary Man” (7:24)
8. “Petite Etude” [instrumental] (1:12)
9. “Say Goodbye” (4:27)

“Allied Forces” is without a doubt Triumph’s most popular album and for good reason, it’s a great album. It’s a fairly short album, with only eight real tracks clocking in at under forty minutes long. There is also short sound effects track called “Air Raid” that acts as an introduction to the screaming heavy metal title track. “Allied Forces” may be one of the band’s fastest and heaviest songs, and on of my personal favorites from the band’s catalog. Of course “Fight the Good Fight” is the band’s signature track and is still on regular rotation on classic rock stations across the globe. Rik Emmet’s vocals on this song are glass shatteringly high and still sends chills up my spine each time I hear it. “Magic Power” is another cut from this CD that became a hit for the band, and a standout track in the band’s catalog. “Petite Etude”is Emmett’s solo showcase and allowed him to flex his musical muscle and show his diverse talents. “Allied Forces” was Triumph at the top of their collective game. I can say without blinking an eye that it is one of the greatest hard rock albums of all time.

Triumph – Just a Game (MCA) 1979

1. “Movin’ On” (4:07)
2. “Lay It on the Line” (4:02)
3. “Young Enough to Cry” (6:03)
4. “American Girls” (5:01)
5. “Just a Game” (6:13)
6. “Fantasy Serenade” [instrumental] (1:39)
7. “Hold On” (6:04)
8. “Suitcase Blues” (3:01)

With  “Just a Game” Triumph took a definite step up in quality from anything they had done before. They showcased quite a bit of diversity here, from the classy hard rock hit “Lay It on the Line” to the blues of “Young Enough to Cry” to the classically inspired instrumental ” Fantasy Serenade”. “Hold On” is a superb ballad that is does not sound like it was forced for radio play. My favorite track, however, is the title track. It’s a hard rocker with a lot of emotion and melody. Of course, “Lay It on the Line” was the big hit from this record and is one of the handful of Triumph songs that tend to still be played on rock radio thirty years later.

Triumph – Rock ‘n’ Roll Machine (MCA) 1977

1. “Takes Time” (3:48)
2. “Bringing It on Home” (4:38)
3. “Rocky Mountain Way ” (4:08)
4. “Street Fighter” (3:29)
5. “Street Fighter (Reprise)” (3:06)
6. “24 Hours A Day” (4:28)
7. “Blinging Ligh Show/Moonchild” (8:40)
8. “Rock and Roll Machine” (6:53)

Triumph’s major label debut. Actually their first two albums are a bit confusing as they were combined into this one album when they were signed by MCA, at least that is the story as I know it. (Correct me if I am wrong, please.) In anycase, “Rock ‘n’ Roll Machine” is a classic 70’s heavy metal platter. By today’s standards I suppose this is nothing more than an old rock album. However in it’s time it was quite heavy. I don’t pretend to admit that “Rock and Roll Machine” was groundbreaking or even outstanding, however, it is a good listen from beginning to end. “Rocky Mountain Way” is a decent Joe Walsh cover, although not much different than the original version. I much prefer Triumph’s original material

Sport of Kings 3/5 Stars (

The Songs: Tears In The Rain / Somebody’s Out There / What Rules My Heart / If Only / Hooked On You / Take A Stand / Just One Night / Embrujo (Instrumental) / Play With The Fire / Don’t Love Anybody Else But Me / In The Middle Of The Night

1986 – man even the year brings back a warm sense of nostalgia. The radio still played rock and roll, and hair metal was killing rock for everybody who liked big guitars and bombastic drums. Triumph was still Canada’s other power trio. Gil, Rik, and Mike were still functioning in relative harmony and Sport of Kings was another solid record. I’ll admit to a bias toward Rik’s songs and voice in the band. As the guitar player he was front and centre, and viewed by default as the front man. This probably wasn’t a good position for Gil who as the other singer, songwriter and as the drummer he was at the back on the riser. Although part of the fun on a Triumph album was the interplay between Rik and Gil – on this one each had a pretty solid hit. “Somebody Out” There for Rik, and “Just One Night” for Gil.

Musically this one is typical of the time. Triumph was always a hit and miss band for me. I’d like some of the songs, but rarely did an entire album strike home for me. This one was close – there’s really no filler, just solid rock songs – but nothing that truly pushes it to the next level.